Annual Council

25 May 2011

Decision Summary

Item 17 - Membership of Committees/Panel and Ratio of Substitutes Panel

- (1) That the Membership of Committees and Panels be determined in accordance with the schedule circulated to each Member and that the appointment of three Elected Parent Governors and the two denominational representatives to the Children and Young People Scrutiny Panel and the appointment of three independent Members and three Parish Members to Standards Committee be agreed.
- (2) That a panel of substitute Members for each Group be established on a 6:6:6:1:1 ratio; that any Member from such panel be authorised to substitute for Member(s) provided that details of substitutions, if any, are reported to the meeting, and that any such substitution shall be effective for the whole of that meeting only.
- (3) That this provision shall not apply to the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Overview and Scrutiny Panels, Town and Valley Committees, Standards Committee, Budget Advisory Board and Corporate Governance and Audit Committee.
- (4) That the Business Manager to each Group be empowered to forward to the Acting Assistant Director, Legal, Governance and Monitoring, no later than 9 days prior to a meeting of a Committee or Panel, any changes in the membership of a Committee or Panel which do not involve a Member of the substitutes panel and any change(s) to the names of those Members included on the panel of substitutes approved by the Annual Council meeting.

KIRKLEES COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2011/12

	Page
Corporate Governance and Audit Committee	2
Licensing and Safety Committee	3
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	4
Personnel Committee	5
Planning and Highways Committee	6
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	7
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	8
Standards Committee	9
Appeals Panel	10
Overview and Scrutiny Panels	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Children and Young People	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Development and Environment	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Resources	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Well Being and Communities	11
Town and Valley Committee - Batley and Birstall & Birkenshaw	12
Town and Valley Committee - Dewsbury	13
Town and Valley Committee - Huddersfield	14
Town and Valley Committee - Mirfield, Denby Dale and Kirkburton	15
Town and Valley Committee - Spen Valley	16
Town and Valley Committee - The Valleys	17
Budget Advisory Board	18

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE

Members 7

(Drawn from each of the largest 4 groups (excluding group leaders), plus ex officio (non-voting) Members, namely Cabinet Portfolio holder for Corporate or equivalent; Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee; and Chair of Standards Committee and provision for Treasury Management expertise)

LABOUR (2)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN PARTY (1)
D O'Donovan	D Hall	A Marchington	D Hardcastle
J Hughes	A Palfreeman	L Wilkinson*	

^{*} Chair

LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

LABOUR (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LIB DEM (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)
M Ahmed* M Hussain C Scott	T Brice J Dodds K Iqbal	C Burke C Iredale R Parchment	D Hardcastle
M Sokhal A Stubley	A Murphy E Ward	C Stanfield	
	L vvaiu		

^{*} Chair

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Members 7

To compromise, on a 2:2:2:1 ratio, the Chair, 4 Scrutiny Lead Members, and 2 other elected Members.

LABOUR (2)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN PARTY (1)
V Kendrick	N Patrick*	J Blanchard	J Stewart Turner
C Pattison	K Sims	C Burke	

^{*} Chair

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

LABOUR (4)	CONSERVATIVE (3)	LIB DEM (2)
M Khan* P McBride D Sheard K Smith	M Bates D Hall R Light	K Pinnock N Turner

^{*} Chair

PLANNING AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE

LABOUR (4)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN PARTY (1)
M Akhtar S Hall V Kendrick M Sokhal	M Bolt L Holmes A Murphy C Smith*	C Iredale A Pinnock	(vacancy)

^{*} Chair

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

LABOUR (7)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LIB DEM (2)	GREEN PARTY (1)
M Akhtar S Hall P Kane* D O'Donovan P O'Neill C Scott A Stubley	K Iqbal A Murphy S Patel K Taylor E Ward	J Lawson A Pinnock	(vacancy)

^{*} Chair

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

LABOUR (6)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LIB DEM (3)	INDEPENDENT (1)
J Calvert J Hughes C Preest M Sarwar M Sokhal M Walton	D Bellamy T Brice J Cook D Firth* K Sims	C Iredale N Turner L Wilkinson	T Lyons

^{*} Chair

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Members 6 (Not to include the Leader or more than one Cabinet Member, and to include, as far as possible, Members from at least 4 groups; plus 3 external Members, one of whom will be Chair, and 3 Parish Council representatives)

LABOUR (2)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN PARTY (1)
M Sokhal K Smith	N Patrick C Smith	D Ridgway	D Hardcastle

External Members:

Mr Paul Blythe* Mr Derek Binns Professor Alan Kitson

Parish Council Representatives:

Councillor Peter Cunnington (2 vacancies)

^{*} Chair

APPEALS PANEL

LABOUR (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LIB DEM (3)	INDEPENDENT (2)
V Kendrick G Lowe S Pandor H Richards K Smith	J Dodds V Lees-Hamilton A Palfreeman N Patrick K Taylor	K Hussain* A Marchington C Stanfield	E Holroyd-Doveton T Lyons

^{*} Chair

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANELS

Members 24

LABOUR (9) CONSERVATIVE (8) LIB DEM (5) GREEN PARTY (1) INDEPENDENT (1)

(i) Children and Young People (6)

M Akhtar H Mayet
D Bellamy C Pattison
C Burke* B Smith

(ii) Development and Environment (6)

J Blanchard G Lowe

S Hall A Marchington

V Lees-Hamilton K Sims*

(iii) Resources (6)

J Cook H Richards E Firth D Ridgway

D Hall J Stewart Turner*

(iv) Well-Being and Communities (6)

L Holmes E Smaje
V Kendrick* A Stubley
A Marchington (one vacancy)

^{*} Lead Member

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - BATLEY AND BIRSTALL & BIRKENSHAW

Members 9

LABOUR (6) CONSERVATIVE (3)

M Akhtar R Light

G Lowe* A Palfreeman

H Mayet E Smaje

P O'Neill S Pandor A Stubley

^{*} Chair

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - DEWSBURY

LABOUR (6)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (1)
M Ahmed E Firth M Hussain P Kane D O'Donovan C Scott*	K Iqbal S Patel	K Hussain

^{*} Chair

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD

LABOUR (11)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	LIB DEM (6)	GREEN PARTY (3)
J Calvert C Harris J Hughes M Khan P McBride C Pattison C Preest M Sarwar K Smith M Sokhal M Walton	T Brice	J C Blanchard C Burke A Denham R Parchment C Stanfield* L Wilkinson	A Cooper G Simpson J Stewart Turner

^{*} Chair

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - MIRFIELD, DENY DALE AND KIRKBURTON

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (8)

GREEN (1)

D Hardcastle

M Bolt

J Cook

J Dodds

V Lees-Hamilton

A Murphy*

C Smith

K Taylor

E Ward

* Chair

15

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - SPEN VALLEY

CONSERVATIVE (3)	LIB DEM (3)	
M Bates	J Lawson	
D Hall	A Pinnock*	
L Holmes	K Pinnock	
	M Bates D Hall	

^{*} Chair

TOWN AND VALLEY COMMITTEE - THE VALLEYS

LABOUR (1)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LIB DEM (4)	INDEPENDENT (2)
H Richards	D Bellamy* D Firth N Patrick K Sims B Smith	C Iredale A Marchington D Ridgway N Turner	E Holroyd-Doveton T Lyons

^{*} Chair

BUDGET ADVISORY BOARD

Members 6

Consisting of the Leader and Deputy Leader of each of the Groups who are a party to the Budget Implementation Agreement dated 16 February 2011.

LABOUR (2)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	LIB DEM (2)	
M Khan*	D Hall	K Pinnock	
K Smith	R Light	N Turner	

^{*} Chair

SUBSTITUTES PANEL 2011/12

Labour (6)

E Firth

S Hall

J Hughes

V Kendrick

D Sheard

M Sokhal

Lib Dem (6)

J Blanchard

C Burke

A Denham

C Iredale

J Lawson

A Marchington

Conservative (6)

T Brice

D Hall

V Lees-Hamilton

N Patrick

B Smith

C Smith

Green (1)

A Cooper

Independent (1)

E Holroyd-Doveton